Challenging times

How’s your world been?

Mine’s been busy. So busy, in fact, that I haven’t been able to write anything on this blog for ages.

I just bought a new car, and that’s a great feeling after years of putting up with “affordable” wheels. I’ve spoiled myself and am now cruising around in a shiny black VW Jetta with all the trimmings. It’s so cool, and I sometimes catch myself imagining driving through the German countryside with my best girl by my side.

Time to spoil myself

Time to spoil myself

Speaking of which, my girlfriend and I have decided it’s time to live together, so we’re both selling up and buying something we can call “Our” home. My house is now on the market, but that meant, of course, doing lots of jobs around the place to make it look pretty; jobs like painting, cleaning, gardening… you know, all those things you don’t do when you’re living in the place yourself but are willing to do so that someone else can enjoy the benefits.

The view over the frog pond in my back yard. Does it say "Buy Me" ?

The view over the frog pond in my back yard. Does it say “Buy Me” ?

Something else I decided recently is that it’s time to forge ahead in my chosen sport of skydiving, so I’m now striving for new achievements and setting new goals, and that brings a whole new level of pressure. I’m studying and practicing for an advanced packer rating, and I’m getting serious about applying for the next level of Instructor rating myself. There’s also the possibility that I’ll be involved in the development and training of some new instructors, and that of itself means I’ll need to be on my toes.

So much planning and preparation to do!

My latest group of students. These guys went from ab-initio to A-Certificate skydivers in one week. What an effort!

My latest group of students. These guys went from ab-initio to A-Certificate skydivers in one week. What an effort!

Why I give myself these uber-difficult challenges I don’t know, but that’s me, I guess, another weird guy in a world full of crazies.

Juggling all of these balls at the one time is at present achievable, but I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to handle the turmoil. My brain has already developed that steady-state glow that happens when you’re thinking about many things at once, and it won’t be long before I’ll be unable to wear a cap for fear of frying my skull.

Life as a retiree has so far been great, and I’ve been able to do lots of things to keep myself busy, but I somehow think it’s about to get a whole lot busier…

I like to get feedback, so tell me what you think!

